An unexpected party

I don’t know if you’ve ever had a similar experience, but you may have been there yourself. Suddenly you find yourself thinking about someone you haven’t seen for ages, and you’re not sure why but it kind of makes sense. After all, you used to know that person slightly, and you wonder if they’re okay, or what’s changed in their lives.

Then you forget about them again and go for a walk. In my case a walk through Birmingham’s unfeasibly crowded Christmas market, dedicated to the memory of Jesus and his love of commercial enterprise. Temples? Moneylenders? But I digress.

Anyhow, I was thinking about this young man who runs a local live music event. I haven’t been going as I don’t think it attracts a particularly friendly crowd. The music’s great though, which is the main draw, so I suppose I can’t complain.

Imagine my surprise when D. popped up from amongst the throng of sheeply shoppers, clutching a leaflet in his pale fist. ‘Haven’t seen you for ages!’ he cooed, while thrusting said leaflet into my mitts.

Apparently his event has been supplanted after a bit of political backstabbing on the local scene, and he’s been forced to move it somewhere else. He invited me to try it out, thereby derailing a shopping trip (which I didn’t want to bother with anyway), and really making my evening.

It really was a very nice evening. A bit of indie orientated folk(ish) stuff, followed by some very infectious jazz singing / playing. A far cry from a rock club (for example) but fun to enage with. I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

