Climate change

Today is Blog Action Day on climate change, with the idea that the world’s bloggers (an ugly word!) should write about this important issue.

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”true” link=”term=oil+slick&iid=9117866″ src=”http://view4.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/9117866/gulf-oil-spill-spreads/gulf-oil-spill-spreads.jpg?size=380&imageId=9117866″ width=”300″ height=”170″ /]

I’m more than happy to join in as discussions on climate change quickly divide people into 2 camps: those who think it’s complete nonsense, and people who accept that human beings are having a dramatic impact on global temperatures. Oh! I forgot the 3rd. lot: the ones who don’t give a buggers.

I belong to the first second(!!) group, because I’ve been interested in this subject since the mid-80s when it was a fringe issue, likely to get you branded as a fruitcake or an extremist. It seemed obvious back then that something was happening, but few people seemed willing to accept it. Now the issue has gone mainstream – good!

I hasten to add that I’m not a scientist and I have no hard evidence to back up this piece: that would take too long. I have certainly read up on the subject and feel very strongly that humanity is having an adverse effect on the planet, creating significant increases in global temperatures. The polar ice caps are melting, and somehow I find the suggestion that, ‘It would have happened anyway’ rather stupid.

My understanding is that climate change doesn’t always lead to uniformly distributed rises in global temperatures: some areas become hotter, while others may actually cool down. It seems that the overall effect is to create far less predictable global weather patterns. For example, unexpected droughts, anticyclones and flooding are more likely to occur in different regions.

Whenever I read articles written by climate change deniers I suspect that either:

  1. they’ve not read any well researched – and unbiased – scientific evidence and understood key messages from this.
  2. They have an underlying political agenda (usually right wing) to their view. Just to clarify, I’m a leftist so feel free to say, ‘Yeah, well you would say that wouldn’t you?’. Yes I would! But at least I’ve come clean and you can understand my perspective.
  3. They don’t want to face the grim reality of the situation, so they shut down mentally and retreat into a fantasy world.

We’re all individually responsible for changing our behaviour to reduce humanity’s impact on the environment, and the addage ‘think globally, act locally’ seems like a good place to start.

I’m trying to reduce my impact on the environment. I don’t run a car or own a TV (though obviously I have a computer!) and I use low energy lightbulbs at home. I need to recycle more stuff – that’s my weak point because my neighbours are doing more on that front than me.

Please at least consider the possibility that if we don’t face up to the realities of climate change and act NOW, our future on this planet – and the wellbeing of the whole biosphere – is at risk. It’s up to us.

Share

5 thoughts on “Climate change

  1. Fancy a drink at the Briar Rose on Friday night?

    I’m at home till Friday of next week and I need to get away from this damn Internet.

    I’m assuming you get this complete with my email address.

    Don

  2. Hi there,
    I could be wrong but the real environmental issues are:
    1. The massive amount of depleted uranium being gifted to the air we breathe by US bombs.
    2. The massive number of US businesses relocated to China, the Phillipines, India etc where they can pollute at will (and pay starvation level wages to children to work in dangerous conditions).
    3. The anti-hemp laws (disguised as anti marijuana laws) which mean the world is full of oil derived plastics that will never rot instead of lovely hemp plastics which will nicely bio-degrade.
    4. The consumer-bots masquerading as real people in the US and the west generally whilst guzzling the future without a care in the world, chucking 95% of what they buy (on credit!) into the trash after 6 months.
    5. The illegal dumping of highly toxic waste off the coast of Somalia (including nuclear waste) conducted by all the western nations…(next time you hear about Somalian “pirates” look more closely).
    The global warming scam is a method by which, in effect, you and everyone else can be charged for clean air….ie it’s a tax on breathing.
    Ho hum,
    OLive Farmer
    http://olivefarmercrete.blogspot.com
    Mine’s a Guinness.

  3. Sorry have I missed a crucial word? First you say you’re in the first group (“those who think it’s complete nonsense”) then the rest of the post says you go along with it (erm…which I do also). Nice post though: says what needs to be said!

    • Yes sorry Lunchista – must have had a brain fart! I probably just didn’t proof read my post correctly. Thanks for responding. – John

Leave a Reply

