Idle Foundation

A slightly belated Happy New Year to everyone: all 2 of you, as I can see from my blog stats that not many people actually read these pages. Actually the ‘About’ section (possibly the most tedious thing you will read online) has the most hits. I really don’t mind: writing is therapeutic and I don’t post here so much.
Man sleeping in a hammock
I want to say a few words in praise of the Idle Foundation (IF) who have been the source of so much inspiration and moral support over the last year or so. I’m proud to be a member as we’re a small but growing band of online misfits, bohos and creatives. I’m using the word ‘misfits’ affectionately here! Who wants to fit in with an inherently corrupt and culturally vapid system?

Looking back over 2008, I’ve had a very creative year. I’ve written a manifesto, a handful of essays and a few poems. I even wrote a guitar tune, inspired by the late Davy Graham. I hope to get involved in some more writing with and for the IF at some stage, and my point is… without their encouragement I would have produced nothing. I need a kick up the arse coupled with a bit of support before I can ‘put pen to paper’.

Inevitably a blog like this falls short of saying what’s really in my heart, but I hope this will suffice. Thank you, thank you and thank you all again.

Share

7 thoughts on “Idle Foundation

  1. Well, I read your blog dearest SJ (and I’m sure a lot of the idlers do too). And what a lovely thing this was to read. Feel much the same about our beloved IF, and so glad you enjoy it as much as I do!

  2. Greetings Sleepy!

    As one of the proud misfits I say thank you right back.

    Keep up the good work and keep on blogging, now if you will excuse me it’s time for a cup of tea and a small nap.

    Kindest Regards,

    Mr S.

  3. That article was an unexpected (as well as belated) find! Hooray for the wonderful people at the IF, including – of course – Sleepy John.

Leave a Reply

